Sejong Cultural Society Logo - Link to Home Page

Korea Times News Article Jan 21, 2006
2005 Sejong Music Competition Winners Concert on Jan 15, 2006 at Ganz Hall, Chicago

Sejong Music Competition Winners - Korea Times news 1/21/2006, Jong Gul Kim, Jamie Sachay

January 21, 2006 Korea Times - Town & People Section

"Winners of the Sejong Music Competition "

Photos -
Jong Gul Andrew Kim (Sophomore ar Eagles Wing High School)
He was only four years old when he took his first piano lesson and eight when he won first place in the Music Education Times piano competition. In the last two years, Andy won first and second place in the Korea Economic Times Piano competitions, after which he came to the United States and began studying with Dr. Soo Young Lee at the Music Institute of Chicago. Since then, he has won awards in the North Shore Music Teachers Association Piano Competition. Andy plans to enter a conservatory where he can major in classical and jazz piano.

Jamie Sachay (Music Institute of Chicago) - Jamie is 14 years old and has been playing the violin since the age of three. She currently studies with Desiree Ruhstrat at the Music Institute of Chicago. She previously studied at the NIU Community School of the Arts in Dekalb where she was awarded talent scholarship. In 2003 she was the first place winner in the elementary division of the Mendelssohn Performing Arts Center's annual scholarship competition in Rockford, and in 2005 she placed second in the junior division. Jamie has been a member of the Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestra for the past three years. She has been a long-time member of the Community School of the Arts Youth Sinfonia and performed this year as winner of the 2005 Sinfonia Concerto Competition.

Reporter - Jin Hwan Hwang, Korea Times.

Korea Times News Article Jan 21, 2006

November 15 '05 Article | November 16 '05 Article | January 17 '06 Article | January 19 '06 Article | January 20, '06 Article | January 21, '06 Article | January 24, '06 Article

| Home |News Index | 2005 Sejong Music Competition Winners | Judges |